The 18 'Ities' of Swami Sivananda

The 18 ‘Ities’ of Swami Sivananda for Yogic Living

Yoga has long been a source of physical, mental, and spiritual wellness. While many of us may practice yoga for an hour or so each day, true yogic living extends far beyond our time on the mat. The teachings of Swami Sivananda Saraswati offer a pathway to this deeper, more integrated way of life through what he called the Divine Life.


At its core, the Divine Life involves a profound understanding of our place in the world and a commitment to making a positive impact in the lives of others. It requires us to develop a deep sense of awareness and mindfulness that extends beyond our daily practice of yoga asanas and pranayama exercises. As we adopt the Divine Life philosophy, we become more sattvic in nature, more wise, and more connected to the world around us.


To fully embrace the Divine Life, we must train ourselves to manage our responses, reactions, attitudes, convictions, creativity, and performance. This is where the 18 ‘ities’ of Swami Sivananda become essential. These ‘ities’ are qualities that we must cultivate within ourselves to upgrade the programming of our minds and achieve a more yogic way of living.


Let’s explore these 18 ‘ities’ in more detail:


Serenity – Cultivate a peaceful and calm state of mind.

Regularity – Establish a consistent routine and stick to it.

Absence of vanity – Let go of ego-driven desires and focus on serving others.

Sincerity – Be truthful in your words and actions.

Simplicity – Embrace a simple and uncluttered lifestyle.

Veracity – Speak the truth with kindness and compassion.

Equanimity – Maintain a balanced and even-keeled state of mind in all situations.

Fixity – Stay focused on your goals and commitments.

Non-irritability – Avoid getting frustrated or irritated by the actions of others.

Adaptability – Be flexible and adaptable in the face of change.

Humility – Embrace a humble and modest approach to life.

Tenacity – Stay determined and persistent in the pursuit of your goals.

Integrity – Uphold strong moral principles and ethical values.

Nobility – Strive to act in a noble and honorable manner.

Magnanimity – Show generosity and kindness towards others.

Charity – Give freely to those in need.

Generosity – Be generous with your time, energy, and resources.

Purity – Strive for purity in your thoughts, words, and actions.


By adopting these 18 ‘ities’ into our daily lives, we can reprogram our minds to think and act in a more yogic way. They provide a framework for living a more meaningful and purposeful life, grounded in the principles of kindness, compassion, and service to others.


Incorporating the Divine Life philosophy into our daily routine may take time and effort, but the benefits are immeasurable. As we cultivate these ‘ities,’ we will find ourselves becoming more mindful, more present, and more connected to the world around us. And as we begin to live more fully in accordance with yogic principles, we will be better equipped to make a positive impact in the lives of those around us.


So let us embrace the Divine Life philosophy, and strive towards a more integrated and purposeful way of living. If you’re looking to embrace the Divine Life philosophy and cultivate the 18 ‘ities’ of Swami Sivananda, Vyaniti Yoga Centre is the perfect place to start. With a focus on traditional yoga practices and teachings, the center offers a variety of classes and workshops to help you deepen your practice and live a more integrated way of life. For more details visit .

Similar Posts